13 Relatable Author Quotes about Writing

Writing can be a double-edged sword. On the one hand, it’s exciting to create new worlds and characters. On the other, there are parts that feel like pulling teeth just to get an idea down. When we’re in the depths of writing despair, it often feels like we’re alone. Surely none of those amazing published authors have these problems! Thankfully, that is not the case. In fact, many published authors go through the same trials as you when writing. Writers have a few words about writing that are very relatable. I’ve compiled thirteen that I’ve found especially relatable.

  1. This quote about deadlines that is too real.
  1. Ernest shows up a lot on this list, because he speaks the truth.
  1. True for both writing and life.
  1. This quote from Stephen King about the curse of adverbs.
  1. Again, true for both life and writing.
  1. Words of wisdom if you’re struggling with your first draft.
  1. Soothing words for anyone who feels confused about the writing process.
  1. Neil knows how we all feel at the beginning of a writing session.
  1. Dorothy understands the writing dilemma.
  1.  Perfect for the introvert in all of us.
  1. Ernest is back with more relatable words.
  1. A writer’s most feared weapon.
  1. Finally the most accurate quote about writing.

What was your favorite quote? Do you have a favorite quote about writing? Let me know in the comments below! I always love hearing other writer’s perspectives on writing. This will be my last writing-themed post before we enter into NaNoWriMo. I’m planning on giving it another shot this year, this time with a new genre focus. I’ll have some more information about it in my next writing post on November 3rd. In the meantime, let me know if you are participating in NaNoWriMo in the comments below. Thanks so much for reading and happy writing!

3 Online Content Creators Who Inspire Me

Being a writer in the modern age is exciting. Every day you find new content that serves as inspiration for your own work. From adaptations to new stories, countless online writers create innovative content for the world of the internet. They shine across social media platforms and YouTube. Many of these writers form their own groups and companies to create awesome projects. Three of these groups inspire me to create content of my own.

Via Shipwrecked Comedy

  1. Shipwrecked Comedy

Shipwrecked Comedy is a group of creators who joined forces to create historical content with a comedic flair. The members of Shipwrecked are Sinéad Persaud, Sean Persaud, Mary Kate Wiles, and Sara Grace Hart. Together they’ve created iconic content that inspires me as a writer.

My favorite Shipwrecked project, Edgar Allen Poe’s Murder Mystery Party, was released back in 2016. It follows the adventures of Poe and some historically famous authors as they get swept into a whodunnit mystery. The characters are vibrant, full of personality and wit. The dialogue is top notch, with quips that showcase Shipwrecked’s knowledge of the writers. It’s a must-see for anyone who wants to build strong characters, and a good murder-mystery. 

Throughout all of their content there is a strong sense of storytelling. The costumes are always wonderful, the actors are amazing, and the writing delivers. You can tell that they meticulously plan each plot point to make sure that the story flows. I took some serious notes on plot structure during my second watch of The Case of the Gilded Lily. If you’re interested in checking out their awesome content, you can visit their YouTube channel here

Via Pinterest

  1. Pemberley Digital

Pemberly Digital is a web company that creates modern adaptations of literary classics. They have an amazing talent for weaving social media and vlogs together to tell your favorite stories. 

Their first work, The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, is one of my favorite Pride and Prejudice  adaptations. It illustrates how to make these characters vibrant in the modern era. Their use of social media allowed them to let the audience see a side of the story unfolding behind the scenes of the vlogs. They get to play with writing styles for each character’s posts in an exciting way. It’s a great way to learn about writing in different povs. Also, it’s a great insight into writing for different mediums. 

They’ve done four other adaptations since The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. All of these adaptations inspire me to think outside of the box when writing. It’s a reminder that writing has evolved with the modern era. Their content shows how you can use that to your advantage. To check out their amazing adaptations, you can visit their YouTube channel.

Via Reddit

  1. Crash Course

Crash Course is an educational series produced by the digital content companies Complexly and Thought Café. They specialize in creating content for students of all ages. To date, they’ve created over fifteen series about everything from World History to Engineering. There are many different hosts for their content, including Vlogbrothers and authors Hank and John Green.

I was first introduced to Crash Course in my I.B. Biology class. I can still remember the first words Hank Green ever said to me via Crash Course Biology: “Sex, and not dying.” That is definitely a way to get a tired highschooler’s attention! The writing on these episodes are a great illustration of how to write educational content. With the writing style and dynamic hosts, they are able to deliver facts in a fun way. It’s also easy to binge and retain the information. It’s written perfectly for students studying for their finals!

This series is a great study for anyone looking to write educational content in a dynamic way. It’s also a great reminder that writing nonfiction can still be creative and interesting. The research is good, and most importantly, the dialogue is written in a conversational tone. This tone combined with the interesting visuals makes it easy to pay attention and absorb the content. If you want to learn more about their content or some facts about the Mongols, you can visit their YouTube channel.

Sometimes, writing seems like an impossible task. When I feel the imposter syndrome begin to hold me back, I look to others for inspiration. These three groups are just a few of the amazing content creators who inspire me. Who are some online content creators that inspire you to keep writing? Let me know if the comments below! 

Four Books to Get You Into the Christmas Spirit

It’s that time of year again! Michael Bublé is crooning Silver Bells in the coffee shop, and Christmas trees are sparkling in households across the world. While some people may bah-humbug at the thought of Christmas and the holiday season, I morph into my final form during this season. Emily the Elf is even more obnoxiously excited and––true to elf form––even more of a cookie fanatic. One of my favorite ways to get into the holiday spirit (other than baking and music of course) is diving into my Christmas book collection. Every reader has a few books that they set aside to read every year with a cup of their favorite festive beverage. Here are four books that I love reading during the Christmas season.

Via Goodreads

1.      The Snow Queen by Hans Christian Andersen 

The Snow Queen is a holiday classic that I’ve loved since I first read it in middle school. This book is also what loosely inspired Frozen! Emphasis on loosely. This story follows a little boy and girl, named Kay and Gerda. When Kay is cursed to only see the bad in the world, he is taken by the Snow Queen to live in her palace of ice. It’s up to Gerda to save her best friend and travel through the realms of the seasons to get to the Snow Queen’s palace. This story is a lovely fairytale that reminds me of the stories I heard as a kid. It can be read at any age and has a fun host of side characters that both help, and hinder, Gerda on her quest.

Via Goodreads

2. Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares is one of those YA Christmas novels that’s perfect to read while curled up on the couch! The story is a fun combination of crazy adventures, scavenger hunts, as well as a cute romance. It all kicks off when Lily leaves a red notebook in her favorite bookstore with a list of dares. Dash comes across it, and soon they are on a scavenger hunt of festive tasks. Anyone who loves Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist will consider this one a holiday staple!

Via Goodreads

3.   Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle

Let it Snow is a fun group of short stories that take place during a snow storm. The first tale, by Maureen Johnson, follows Jubilee, a high school girl who finds herself on a train to Florida on Christmas Eve after her parents get arrested. Why? Waiting for a new limited edition piece of their Christmas village decor got heated! The train gets stranded in a tiny town, where she meets a new friend, and the other stars of the stories. The second short story, by John Green, follows three friends as they travel through the perilous roads to get to a Waffle House for hash browns, and the stranded cheerleaders on Jubilee’s train. It’s a fun adventure that reminds you of your friends, and makes you crave delicious hash browns. The third story, by Lauren Myracle, wraps up the tales with a story of a barista who is going through a hard time. The lovesick barista is tasked with protecting her bff’s teacup pig, but everything goes awry. The three tales are unique, but all share the same humor and charm that will warm you up on a cold winter day!

Via Goodreads

4. I’m Half-Sick of Shadows by Alan Bradley

The fourth and final book on my recommendation list is a bit different. I’m Half-Sick of Shadows is the fourth mystery in the series by Alan Bradley. It follows the eleven-year-old British sleuth and scientist Flavia de Luce as she goes on a quest to trap Father Christmas. Everything’s going to plan, when a film crew arrives at her family’s estate to shoot a movie with a standout star. During a blizzard, the members of Flavia’s town of Bishop’s Lacy gather at the de Luce estate to watch the star perform. It’s all Christmas cheer and excitement, until she’s found murdered! It’s up to Flavia to use her wit and solve another murder, and hopefully catch Father Christmas along the way. Fans of Sherlock Holmes and Agatha Christie will be charmed by this witty girl. You can read this book mid-series, but if you enjoy it, why not check out the others? Flavia’s charming stories are also wonderful on Audible, where the talented Jayne Entwistle brings her to life.

I hope you enjoy these Christmas-themed books, and that they get you into the holiday spirit! What are some books that you like to read during the holidays? Comments below to let me know! Also, if you have any book recommendations for me, you can send them by filling out the survey found here. Happy Holidays everyone!